Where not to walk/ Hiatus announcement

Two years back, I tripped at the top of Portola and tore a tendon in my right ankle. I had two sales jobs and no insurance, so I (stupidly) stayed on it, cycling through “I feel okay” and “compression boot time” until finally entering physical therapy last year. Part of my treatment were the ugliest orthopedic shoes you’ve ever seen, which I was told to literally never take off. They match nothing I own and can take a 10 outfit right down to a 4.

My leg started being obedient enough for me to quit PT, but I kept the shoes because they really did seem to be helping. (I eventually blew out my arch completely, and the sturdiness of the shoes’ soles reshaped them.) They are starting to show their age, though, and while it hasn’t been addressed directly, I’m positive they’re losing me interviews. I hate having people make exceptions for me, even for dress code: it makes me more nervous in an atmosphere that already puts me on edge.

So I spent a decent chunk of change at the Doc Martens on Haight, positive my cute new leather shoes would help me score at an interview the next day. And I bet they would have, too… if I hadn’t slipped, stumbled into a planter, and broken my left ankle within a few steps of the company HQ. (There were tears, and mostly not from pain. Also the job looks terrible, so no loss there.)

I’m sorry, guys: one leg is totally blown out and the other operates at 75% on a good day. I am fairly immobile through early November… but you can bet that when I do get outside, I will tell you allllll about it.

:/

 

 

Leave a Reply

